New Things

Cover of "Today God Is First"
Cover of Today God Is First

New Things
TGIF Today God Is First Volume 1 by Os Hillman
Monday, August 20 2012

“Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”Philippians 3:13b-14

Our past can be a hindrance or a help in moving toward God’s purposes for each of us. For some, the past has meant pain and heartache, and grace is required so that we do not let our past dictate our responses to the future. If we allow our past to make us a victim, then we have not entered into the grace that God has for us. If we live on memories of past successes and fail to raise our vision for new things, we again are victims of our past.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland” (Is. 43:19). Our past should only be viewed for what we can learn from it. We must move forward and avoid viewing the negative or the positive for more than what we can learn. Many have allowed their past to dictate their future. God is always about doing new things in our lives. He gives fresh revelation of His purposes in our lives. Do not live in the past. Do not hold onto bitterness that may hinder God from doing new and exciting things in your life. He turns our wastelands into streams of water to give life, not death.

How have you viewed your past? Has it hindered you in some areas of your life? Have you relied on past successes to dictate what you will do in the future? Put aside such thoughts and allow God to do a new thing in your life. Ask Him to help you see the new things He wants to do in and through you today.

“When your memories are bigger than your dreams, you’re headed for the grave” [Author unknown].


10 thoughts on “New Things

  1. Pingback: Grace | YOU DECIDE
  2. I agree wholeheartedly that looking back can cause problems, as you detail, but looking back can also bring forth praise.

    I was severely abused for the first 22 years of my life but my life changed completely when God stepped in and revealed to me the Lord Jesus, dying for me and paying the penalty for my sins.

    I must admit that those years, especially the daily mental abuse and the event of one day under the house, affected me for many years, but I praise my amazing Father God that I can look back and be truly thankful for everything that happened to me. I never want to forget those things that are past, because God used them to make me who I am and to give me a ministry which wouldn’t be as effective had it not been for those years, but I look back with thankfulness.

    Looking back at past achievements (where GOD has achieved through me) does not allow me to rest on them, but gives me the assurance that God can and will use me again.

    We serve a truly amazing triune God!

    Like

    1. Looking back at past achievements (where GOD has achieved through me) does not allow me to rest on them, but gives me the assurance that God can and will use me again

      In our journey through life, we come across many valleies and many mountain tops, what we as humans mostly recal is “,the bad times, and then comes the why me factor,But” you among many others have a hold on the truth. Thank you so much for your heart felth comment and God bless you🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.